The Flag Network

State Flags
"Site" Quick Click

Flag Etiquette
How to fold the american flag
American flag display
Flag burning
How to fly the US Flag

American Flag History
Meaning of the American flag
Past American flags
Confederate flag
Flags of the World
Canada flag
German flag
Italian Flag
Mexican flag
Puerto Rican flag
All country flags
American flag pole
Flag size
Flag pole size


The 13 Star flag 1777

Betsy Ross Flag

The First Official United States Flag : This 13-Star Flag became the Official United States Flag on June14th, 1777 and is the result of the congressional action that took place on that date. Much evidence exists pointing to Congressman Francis Hopkinson as the person responsible for its design.The only President to serve under this flag was George Washington (1789-1797). This Flag was the official flag for a period of 18 years.

Each star and stripe represented a Colony of which there were thirteen, united nearly one year earlier by the Declaration of Independence. The thirteen Colonies are listed below with the date that each ratified the Constitution and became a State.

  •  (1st) Delaware - December 7, 1787
  •  (2nd) Pennsylvania - December 12,1787
  •  (3rd) New Jersey - December 18, 1787
  •  (4th) Georgia - January 2, 1788
  •  (5th) Connecticut - January 9, 1788
  •  (6th) Massachusetts - February 6, 1788
  •  (7th) Maryland - April 28, 1788
  •  (8th) South Carolina - May 23, 1788
  •  (9th) New Hampshire - June 21, 1788
  • (10th) Virginia - June 25, 1788
  • (11th) New York - July 25, 1788
  • (12th) North Carolina - November 21, 1789
  • (13th) Rhode Island - May 29, 1790
The Flag Network
Top of Page