The Flag Network

State Flags
"Site" Quick Click

Flag Etiquette
How to fold the american flag
American flag display
Flag burning
How to fly the US Flag

American Flag History
Meaning of the American flag
Past American flags
Confederate flag
Flags of the World
Canada flag
German flag
Italian Flag
Mexican flag
Puerto Rican flag
All country flags
American flag pole
Flag size
Flag pole size


The 20 Star Flag 1818

Betsy Ross Flag

Realizing that the addition of a new star and new stripe for each new State was impractical, Congress passed the Flag Act of 1818 which returned the flag design to 13 stripes and specified 20 stars for the 20 states.

This Flag became the Official United States Flag on April 13th, 1818.

  • (16th) Tennessee - June 1, 1796
  • (17th) Ohio - March 1, 1803
  • (18th) Louisiana - April 30, 1812
  • (19th) Indiana - December 11, 1816
  • (20th) Mississippi - December 10, 1817

Five stars were added and it was the official flag for just one year. The only President to serve under this flag was James Monroe (1817-1825).

The Flag Network
Top of Page